How can I write an Email to Professor?

In summary, if you are an undergraduate and are interested in contacting a physicist to ask a question, you should try to find a professor in your department who works in that field and ask them to help you out. Alternatively, you can try to contact the author directly, but be prepared to answer any questions they may have.
yicong2011
Recently, I am reading a paper from Ezra T Newman (in Pittsburg); I want to Email him to ask him a question about his paper.

Unfortunately, I am an undergraduate have no such experiences. How should I write? Is there any templete?

Physics news on Phys.org
Unless you're very familiar with the professor then you should address him formally. Use "Dr. Newman" as his name. Always assume they have a PhD and address as "Dr. Last Name" unless they have their masters, in which case "Professor Last Name" is sufficient. Some PhD's will be ok with with calling them Professor but others might be offended, so default to Dr.

For example...

Dr. Newman,

I recently read your aticle on ... and was interested about ...

Thanks,
Your full name

There's no real trick to it. Be formal and polite.

Most journals that I'm familiar with require you to include an email address for correspondence in the article and this is exactly what the purpose is for.

I get the occasional email from students interested in work I've published and I'm happy to answer them - even if I don't answer right away due to time constraints.

mrmiller1 said:
Unless you're very familiar with the professor then you should address him formally. Use "Dr. Newman" as his name. Always assume they have a PhD and address as "Dr. Last Name" unless they have their masters, in which case "Professor Last Name" is sufficient. Some PhD's will be ok with with calling them Professor but others might be offended, so default to Dr.

For example...

Dr. Newman,

I recently read your aticle on ... and was interested about ...

Thanks,
Your full name