How can I understand reflection coefficient for a certain circuit?

In summary, the reflection coefficient, denoted by Gamma, is a measure of the ratio of the electric field strength of the reflected wave to that of the incident wave. It can be calculated using the formula Gamma = (ZL - Zs)/(ZL + Zs), where ZL and Zs represent the load impedance and source impedance, respectively. Understanding the concept of reflection coefficient is important in RF circuits and can be learned through studying transmission line concepts.
genxium
How can I understand "reflection coefficient" for a certain circuit?

Homework Statement

I'm a beginner in RF circuit, though I've learned something about low frequency oscillator design, some new concepts still confuse me a lot, like the "reflection coefficient".

I google it and found the definition of "reflection coefficient" on wiki,
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reflection_coefficient"
but the definition of it for a certain circuit (like the figure with Vs,Zs,ZL in wiki) is still quite confusing for me >_<

Any one can explain how Gamma=(ZL-Zs)/(ZL+Zs) represents the "ratio of the electric field strength of reflected wave to that of incident wave"?

Homework Equations

Gamma=E-/E+ , Gamma=(ZL-Zs)/(ZL+Zs)

The Attempt at a Solution

none by far, I'm a beginner just for a simple concept explanation...

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org

I won't give you the full explanation here, but I will try to point you in the right direction.

When I was in college, I first learned about reflection coefficient from 'Engineering Electromagnetics' by Inan and Inan. This text will give you a good description of reflection coeff. and related concepts, with respect to transmission lines.