How can I set up and use an accelerometer and gyroscope for data collection?

In summary, the conversation discusses using an accelerometer and gyroscope for a project involving recording acceleration and rotational velocity of the foot during walking. The use of a microcontroller and potential methods for connecting the sensors to a computer are also explored. The possibility of using a pre-made solution, such as the EZ430-Chronos sports watch development kit, is also mentioned. The conversation also touches on the difference between using a gyro and an accelerometer and the wiring process for connecting the sensors to a board and microcontroller.
trannh
Hi,

I am an engineering student that needs help using an accelerometer and a gyroscope. I'm not sure where to begin. How can I setup the sensors to output readable data to a computer. Do I use a microcontroller? Do I need to program anything? I am just in need of help. Anything would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Engineering news on Phys.org
Depending on your application, you might well need to learn about filtering as well. Kalman filters are widely with navigation sensors. In fact, navigation, particular, getting humans to the Moon and back, was the motivating factor that led to the development of this technique.

So what exactly is your application?

=====

mgb_phys said:
Yech. Accerometers do not sense gravity. Nothing can (directly).

The first thing I do before I start anything is find all the necessary datasheets for the components I am working with. What accel and gyro are you using?

D H said:
Yech. Accerometers do not sense gravity. Nothing can (directly).

Uh, why not? Every accelerometer I have used detects a gravitational field. I can directly detect gravity. I don't understand this statement.

Topher925 said:
The first thing I do before I start anything is find all the necessary datasheets for the components I am working with. What accel and gyro are you using?