How Can I Prepare for a Theoretical Physics Course with a Math Minor?

In summary: Waves and whatever else is in that semester. In summary, you should study: Mechanics, Calculus, Linear Algebra, Analytic Geometry, Chemistry, Physics Lab I, Physics Lab II, Option I, Option II, Quantum Mechanics, Electrodynamics and Relativity, Optics, Condensed Matter Physics, Nuclear and Particle Physics, Algebra I, Algebra II, Mathematical Models of Physics, Differential Geometry, Grafs and Applications, Introduction to Dynamical Systems.
AlmenoFSigma
Greetings from Portugal!
I hope I got the right forum section :)

I would greatly appreciate your help in the following matter:
I am a Physics Engineering student, just finishing 1st year and I've recently decided to change to Theoretical Physics with a minor in Mathematics, yet I think I am not quite prepared for this course, thus I am holding university on "standby" for a year (plus financial reasons).
What I need from you is guidance on a study plan that will prepare me for this course!
I was thinking I would restudy some of the classes I took in a more mathematical way cause I am really interested to go deeper in mathematics, although the main point is preparing myself for theoretical physics.

So far I thought I would try the following textbooks:
Linear Algebra Done Right by Axler
Calculus by Michael Spivak
An Introduction to Mechanics by Kleppner and Kolenkow

Which topics should I consider studying? (I would appreciate any textbook recommendations or critics on the ones above)
I also need an Electromagnetism textbook since the course I am transfering to had this covered in the 1st year.

Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
What physics/math have you already taken? What will you be taking when you start theoretical physics?

Hi,

welcome to the forums.

In my uni, the engineering physics n theoretical physics lectures are the same for the first year.