How can I determine a vehicle's center of gravity using Euler's equations?

In summary, the individual is seeking to find the center of gravity for a vehicle using Euler's equations. They are designing a rig that will allow the vehicle to be suspended and moved along its x, y, and z axes in order to measure roll, pitch, and yaw angles. They are having difficulty finding the point at which all these inertias act through. They have considered using trigonometry and CAD modeling, but are unsure if these methods will be accurate. Other methods suggested include using a procedure from the Society of Automotive Engineers and referencing the book "Race Car Vehicle Dynamics." The individual also mentions that the height of the center of gravity can be calculated from the known mass distribution.
Hiceadha

Homework Statement

I need to find a vehicles center of gravity

Homework Equations

I'm thinking euler's equations but I am new to them.

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm designing a rig as part of a project that would allow a race car to be suspended from a lift on 4 ropes and then allow to move in on its x, y and z axis in order to get mesaures for the roll, pitch and yaw angles. I'm having difficulties adding it all together however in order to find the point which all these inertias act through

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hiceadha said:

Homework Statement

I need to find a vehicles center of gravity

Homework Equations

I'm thinking euler's equations but I am new to them.

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm designing a rig as part of a project that would allow a race car to be suspended from a lift on 4 ropes and then allow to move in on its x, y and z axis in order to get mesaures for the roll, pitch and yaw angles. I'm having difficulties adding it all together however in order to find the point which all these inertias act through