How can I approach drawing v-x graphs for projectile motion problems?

In summary, the conversation discusses difficulties in drawing v-x graphs and provides two methods for approaching this task, one using values of t and the other solving in terms of x. The speaker also emphasizes the importance of understanding the purpose of graphs and how to interpret them. They share a personal anecdote about a student who struggled with graphing but reminds the original poster that they have the ability to draw the graph accurately and extract information from it.
Abhishek332211
Hello sir,
I'm a school going student, and this is my first post here. I'm having problems drawing v vs x graphs. I'm unable to understand what should be my general approach while trying to draw v-x graphs. (I've no problem drawing x-t, v-t, or a-t graphs). Let's say, for example, a ball is thrown up with some initial velocity 'u = 50m/s', it keeps going up until it's velocity becomes zero. So I put the values in 3rd eqn of motion. And this is the equation I end up with : y² = 2500 - 20x
(Here y represents velocity and x is displacement) If I were to graph this equation, what should be my general approach? Thanks a lot.

Physics news on Phys.org
Method 1 (using values of t):
If you have no trouble with x-t and v-t graphs, then make a table of t, x, v, for a good set of times t. That will give you a set of values for x and v at matched times, t. Then you can plot those x-v values.

Method 2 (solving in terms of x):
From your equation v2 = y2 = 2500 - 20x, take the positive square root of both sides to get
v = sqrt( 2500 - 20x).
Pick a good set of x values and plot those with the corresponding values of v.

Likes Abhishek332211
Abhishek332211 said:
I'm having problems drawing v vs x graphs.