How Can I Achieve Precise Rapid Rotation in My Mechanical Project?

In summary, the aim of the project is to rotate an inner tube within another tube one full 360 degree turn in 0.05 seconds, with the option for the user to press a button 15 times per second for multiple rotations. Research has been done on using stepper motors, but alternatives are also welcome. The desired precision for the motion is +/- 0.5mm and the load is approximately 30g. The final product will be used for 15-20 minute intervals over a 4 hour period or longer.
longshot
Hi all

Im very new to all of this and require help and guidance with my project.

The aim of my project is to rotate an inner tube (35mm long 20mm diameter) within another tube (21mm diameter - 80mm length) one full 360' turn and then stop in 0.05 seconds, ready for the next command. If the user can press the button 15 times a second it will turn 15 times (0.05 per turn).

Ive been reseaching stepper motors but not sure if they are the right "tool" to use.

Can you please suggest a method how I could preform this motion.

I have created a model of what I need and have used a cordless drill as the "engine" to turn the parts and the method works. Now I just need to scale the "engine" into the body of the object.

thanks in advance.

appologise if this is in the wrong forum.

Engineering news on Phys.org
How precise must the motion be with respect to rotation and time?
What is the load? (How much weight is spinning around?)
Will it be in continuous use, or is it just for a demonstration?

There are a number of off-the-shelf stepper/servo drivers in a wide price range. Depending on how much you want to learn, you can find quite a few plans on instructables.com, hackaday.com, and other DIY sites.

hi pantaz

thx for the quick reply and sites.

How precise must the motion be with respect to rotation and time?