How Can High School Students Bypass Windows XP File Permissions?

• Thread starter BTruesdell07
  • Start date
  • Tags
    File
In summary, the conversation is about a high school student who needs help accessing a file on their hard drive in Windows XP Pro. They do not have administrative access and are unable to open or copy the file due to permission restrictions. One solution suggested is to boot with a liveCD, as Windows XP's security is weak. However, this may not work if the file is encrypted.
BTruesdell07
HELP Me I need this file! Quick!

Hey I need some help... I am a student in high school and I don't have administrative access. So my prediciment is this: I have a file on the hard drive and XP Pro won't let me access it. It says you cannot access this file you do not have permission. I need this file! But it won't let me copy it or even open it. How can I open/ copy this file!

Computer science news on Phys.org
E-mail the administrator.

o:) :wink:

boot with liveCD and get the file... winXP's security is that weak :biggrin:

fargoth said:
boot with liveCD and get the file... winXP's security is that weak :biggrin:

unless you have encrypted the file :wink:

Related to How Can High School Students Bypass Windows XP File Permissions?

What is the file about?

The file is a document or collection of data that contains information related to a specific topic or purpose.

Can you send me the file via email?

It is not recommended to send files via email as it can be a security risk. It is best to use a file sharing service or transfer the file directly through a secure platform.

How soon can I expect to receive the file?

It depends on the size of the file and the method of transfer. If the file is small, it can be sent immediately. However, if it is a large file, it may take longer to transfer.

Is the file safe to download?