How can beta decay have energy of 3-4 MeV

In summary: The uncertainty principle states that there is always a limit to how well we can measure both the position and energy of a particle at the same time. This means that the electron is not always in the nucleus, and even if it is, we cannot accurately measure its energy at that moment. Therefore, the energy of the electron in beta decay is not affected by its temporary presence in the nucleus. In summary, the Heisenberg's uncertainty principle states that there is a limit to how well we can measure both the position and energy of a particle at the same time. Therefore, the energy of the electron in beta decay is not affected by its temporary presence in the nucleus. The link provided explains this concept in more detail. The electron does not gain or
Moazin Khatri
First of all let me tell that I am a high school student and I have no background in particle physics.
If we apply the Heisenberg's uncertainty principle to an electron confined in the nucleus it tells us that the energy of the electron must be something like 3.8X10^8eV .. but in a beta decay the energy of the electron is 3-4 MeV.
The moment a neutron decays into a proton and an electron and a neutrino particle the electron will be in the region of nucleus for some small time at least. While in that region, according to Heisenberg's principle it must have such a large energy. But experimentally we find that beta particles have an energy of 3-4 MeV. Why?
Please clarify me as much as possible and correct me wherever i am wrong.
I read about this from this link: http://elearning.vtu.ac.in/e-con/Phys/html/0018.htm

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Why do you think the electron is localized to the nucleus in beta decay? Isn't it outside the nucleus when you detect it?