Higgs mechanism and gauge theory

In summary: A local gauge invariance means that the field equations are invariant under a local transformation. This is important because it means that the theory is renormalizable. Renormalization is a procedure that allows us to make predictions that are better than the predictions that the theory would give without renormalization.
NewGuy
I'm an undergraduate in physics, I'm on my 2nd year. I have to write this assignment about the Higgs particle and gauge theory. There are quite some things that are unclear to me however. Since I'm only on my second year I don't know a lot of deep math like group theory, just basic stuff. I know the lagrangian formalism.
My first question is about gauge invariance. I can see that the lagrangian is usually invariant under a global gauge transformation, and I can see that if introduce the covariant derivative we have a local gauge invariant lagrangian. I don't understand why we would want that however. I found the explanation that a local gauge invariance means that the theory is renormalizable, however that's just words to me. What does this mean, and is that why we want a lagrangian to be local gauge invariant? Where does this local gauge invariance origin from?
My second question is about spontaneous symmetry breaking. I'm a little lost about this concept. It appears that if the potential part of the lagrangian doesn't have a minimum at the origin you have to choose one of the minima and introduce a new field with respect to this minimum. I can see that this breaks the original symmetry in the lagrangian. I don't understand why you have to do this however? Why is it you have to translate your field so it has a minimum at the origin? I'm quite confused.
I can see that if you impose these conditions on the lagrangian
[tex]L = D_\mu\phi(D^\mu\phi)^*-\frac{1}{4} F^{\mu\nu} F_{\mu\nu}-V(\phi)[/tex]