Nuclear Reaction: 33Cl + 2n -> 15P + 2He

In summary: P.In summary, the conversation is about solving a problem involving the reaction 33Cl(n,?)31p. Two participants discuss their approaches to solving the problem, with one providing a basic representation of an atom and the other suggesting a potential reaction involving a neutron and a gamma particle. Finally, they both come to the conclusion that the reaction is 33Cl(n,n)31p and a stable helium atom is produced as a result.
FrostScYthe
I don't know how to solve this problem... well here it goes...

33Cl(n,?)31p

this is what I did...

33 (1) 31 4
17 Cl + 2(0)n -----> 15 P + 2 He

Is this right ?

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Hi FrostScYthe, did you find the correct answer yet?

I am not an expert, but I tried tackling the problem
If I remember correctly, an atom is represented as follows:

n+p p
n..X

I am not sure what you mean by the part in your equation between the + and the arrow, but this is the basic idea:

17 Cl...(neutron,?) 15 P + ?

It is clear that two protons are released from the Cl.
No neutrons are release, but a neutron is put into the reaction.
Another particle can be put into the reaction.

If the reaction is (n,n) you get a Helium atom (2p,2n) but I am not sure if that is allowed since my knowledge doesn't reach that far.
Maybe it is (n,gamma) where you've got something with (2p,n) at the other end of the reaction..

Let me know what you think and explain what is meant with your solution.

Ah! Wait!

I figured out your reaction, the upper line is a little hard to read and confused me. It seem we both came to the same conclusion, it is (n,n) and a stable He is produced.

33 1 31 4
Cl + 2 n = P He
17 0 15 2
so, here He is liberated as an ejected particle

1. What is a nuclear reaction?

A nuclear reaction is a process in which the nucleus of an atom is altered, resulting in the formation of a new nucleus and the release of energy.