Hi, the wikipedia article on fermium states that it is the last

In summary: Absorbtion of an alpha particle immediately changes the atom to another element since you are adding 2 protons.As to the why, I can't tell you. I'm not an expert on nuclear physics.Primarily because of the short half-lives. You need a target that will sit still long enough. And neutron bombardment followed by beta decay only takes you one step up, Z -> Z + 1. Using alpha particles instead will take you two steps, but more realistically it's better to use heavy ions. To make Nobelium they used 13C ions. Rutherfordium it was 22Ne, Seaborgium it was 18O, and so on. The highest element named so far, Copernicium (at no =
Jarwulf
Hi, the wikipedia article on fermium states that it is the last element that can be synthesized by neutron bombardment but decides not to explain why. Can anybody give a layman's explanation? Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org

Elements heavier than Uranium and Plutonium are created when neutrons are absorbed into the nucleus and then Beta Decay into a proton. This creates a new element since the number of protons differentiate the different elements. Past fermium, I'm guessing that the nucleus will no longer absorb a neutron and then beta decay. It most likely will fission or simply eject other particles as soon as the neutron is absorbed.

Drakkith said:
Elements heavier than Uranium and Plutonium are created when neutrons are absorbed into the nucleus and then Beta Decay into a proton. This creates a new element since the number of protons differentiate the different elements. Past fermium, I'm guessing that the nucleus will no longer absorb a neutron and then beta decay. It most likely will fission or simply eject other particles as soon as the neutron is absorbed.

Yeah but what is the reason behind that? And why would you be able to do it instead with something like an alpha particle?

Jarwulf said: