Here's the type of textbook I'm looking for. Does it exist?

In summary, a college physics grad is looking to gain a strong understanding of the central concepts of precalculus or calculus through self-study and is seeking recommendations for a text that meets specific criteria. One recommendation is Khan Academy, a website that offers free, intuitive video lessons on various subjects, including precalculus and calculus. The creator of the site, Sal Khan, holds multiple degrees from prestigious universities and has dedicated his life to providing free education to students worldwide.
Lane4
I am a college physics grad. For many subtopics of precalculus or calculus, the following statement applies to me:

"I can easily solve problems that involve X, but I can't really tell you what X is or why it matters."

I'd like to spend some spare time to gain a strong understanding of the central concepts of precalculus or calculus that I only learned superficially.

Can anyone recommend a text to work from, based on the following criteria?

- Covers precalculus or Calculus BC material.
- Focused only on the fundamentals and central concepts. For example, I want to understand integration by substitution, but I don't need or want to review every substitution technique.
- NOT focused on (1) tricks, (2) rote problem solving, or (3) teaching general problem solving techniques
- Ideal for self study

Thanks!

Mathematics news on Phys.org
There is a website I am using which many have heard of.

http://www.khanacademy.org/

I'm using it right now to learn Calculus. It's all 1 guy making all of the videos, and in each lesson he tries to explain it in a way so you can have intuition on why you're doing what you're doing.

Sal received his MBA from Harvard Business School. He also holds a Masters in electrical engineering and computer science, a BS in electrical engineering and computer science, and a BS in mathematics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.