Help with pulse dc motor calculations- torque, eff, hp

In summary: P = (I*V) / (RPM)" by mounting a bar on the motor shaft with a spring scale hanging off the bar at a known radius and secured to something immovable for this purpose, then calculating the torque (Lb/Ft, Oz/In, etc) from the measured force and radius.
mnsman
Hello all,

I have a few questions about calculating efficiency, torque and horsepower for a small pulse dc motor. The only parameters that I have are input voltage = 39Vdc, input current = 2A and rpm = 90,000 rpm. Are the above values obtainable with the given information?

This is not a homework problem per se. It is homework in the sense that I am a hobbyist and I've built the motor with the values I've provided at home.

Thank you in advance for any help provided.

Engineering news on Phys.org
That figure of RPM seems very high. Are you sure?

All you can say is that the motor is using 2 amps at 39 volts or 78 watts.

If the motor was 100 % efficient the output power would be 78 watts / 746 watts per horsepower, or 0.105 horse power. The actual horsepower would be something less than this.

You can't really work out the efficiency or torque.

Thanks for your reply vk6kro.

Yes that is an accurate rpm measurement. The rpm has varied and that is the maximum recorded. It was measured with a tachometer and oscilloscope connected directly to the hall sensor input of the circuit. The rpm was also closely confirmed by a spectrum analysis of the audio output of the motor.

But that isn't the issue. I should have simply asked if it were possible to determine efficiency, horsepower and torque given power input (E x I) and rpm.

Just for clarity I will add that this motor has one drive coil and one diametrically magnetized magnet attached to a ~6" stainless steel shaft.