Help Needed: Find Points on x+xy+2y^2=6 with Slope at (2,1)

In summary, the individual is seeking help with a problem in AP Calculus involving finding the coordinates of points on a given curve with a specific slope. They are advised to find the derivative of the curve and then calculate the derivative at a given point. They are also given an example of implicit differentiation to help them with their problem.
ashleyk
I'm new at this, so I hope someone can help me. I have AP Calculus and need some help on a problem...

Given the curve x+xy+2y^2 = 6

Find the coordinates of all points on this curve with slope equal to the slope at (2,1)

Any help is much appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
First find the derivative (you could, for example, solve for x and calculate dx/dy, or you could perform implicit differentiation on the relation you were given). Then calculate the derivative at (2, 1), etc.

Last edited:
Let me add this, to help you with implicit derivatives :

Example : xy^2 + 2x = 1

then (d/dx)(xy^2) + (d/dx)(2x) = (d/dx)1

So, using the product rule on the first term, x(d/dx)(y^2) + y^2(d/dx)(x) + (d/dx)(2x) = (d/dx)1

Now evaluating the derivatives : x(2y)(dy/dx) + y^2(1) + 2 = 0

Separating out dy/dx gives, (dy/dx) = (-2 - y^2)/(2xy)

Now substituting any pair of values (x1,y1) gives you the value of the slope at (x1,y1).

Related to Help Needed: Find Points on x+xy+2y^2=6 with Slope at (2,1)

1. What is the equation and what does it represent?

The equation is x+xy+2y^2=6. It represents a curve on a two-dimensional plane. Specifically, it is a parabola with a vertical axis of symmetry.

2. How do I find the points on this curve?

To find the points on the curve, you can use various methods such as graphing, substitution, or elimination. For this specific equation, you can also use the quadratic formula to solve for y and then plug in different x values to find corresponding points.

3. How do I find the slope at a specific point on the curve?