Help me, nearest neighbor problem.

In summary: As an example, let's say you have all of the data already. As an optimization step you could create a spatial organization structure. One such structure that comes to mind is any kind of bounded classification structure."--> This is definitely something I could consider. I could create a simple, axis aligned bounding box around each point in my problem set. Then, I could use a simple k-d tree structure to store the data. This would allow me to quickly and easily search for a point within a set of points."The critical part of doing this is creating the optimal classification structure. Your structure could ultimately be some kind of convex-hull which is created based on the density of the number of points
phaothu365
Hi everyone,

I am new to computational geometry. As part of my master thesis, I have to solve a popular nearest neighbor problem. My task is to search for a point in a set of some 2000 4-dimensional points which is closest to a given point in the sense of Euclidean distance.

After reading some literatures and rich resources on Internet about this very well known NN problem, I found some helpful methods and variants to deal with it (linear search, space partitioning,e.t.c). However, my application is real time and thus requires fast computation such that the closest point is found as quickly as possible,i.e. search time is the most critical objective.

Can anyone who has experience in this fields suggest me some methods (in the vast quantity of methods available today) as optimal choices for my particular problem?

Thank you very much,

Regards,

Viet

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey phathu365 and welcome to the forums.

Are you allowed to precompute structural information before you do the search?