Help making IR Transmitter and receiver

In summary, the conversation is about an amateur modeler who is interested in physics and is trying to make a model car/roadway that can be controlled by a computer. They have successfully placed a motor in the model but are struggling to find small enough batteries to power it. They need help with making IR transmitters and receivers for the model, as well as integrating it with a microprocessor and computer to control speeds and lights. The suggestion is made to use IR instead of RF for better coverage and to avoid interference at exhibitions. The modeler asks for more information and help with choosing components.
Discript
Hi everyone

I am an amateur modeler and am very interested in physics and am trying to
to make a model car/roadway that can move and be controlled by a computer.
I have managed to placing a motor in the models, but have not found battery's which are small enough and can run it. So what i need Help with is this, I need some help and some advice on how to make the IR transmitters and receivers for the models, how to make the models work with a microprocessor and where i could get some and most of all how this can all go to a computer and be able to control the: speeds and lights on all cars and lorrys. Also any help with what motors that i should get that are very small and us little power.

Thx in advance and any help greatly appreciated.

Discript

Engineering news on Phys.org
well you could probably take radio control systems, that would at least overcome all the encoding and decoding processes. Just replace the Rf transmitter and receiver with infra red TX and RX modules.
But why use IR when RF will give better coverage with less drop out of signal ?

Dave

Hi davenn