Help Beginner Quantum Mechanics

In summary, the question asks for the probability of finding a particle at a given location given that you know its wave function. If you integrate over all space, you'll get the same answer regardless of whether you integrate over y and z or just x.
NeedPhysHelp8

Homework Statement

a particle is described by the normalized wave function
[tex] \psi(x,y,z) = Axe^{-\alpha x^2}e^{-\beta y^2}e^{-\gamma z^2}[/tex]
Where all constants are positive and real. The probability that the particle will be found in the infinitesimal volume dxdydz centered at point [tex] (x_{0},y_{0},z_{0}) [/tex] is [tex] \mid \psi (x_{0},y_{0},z_{0}) \mid ^2 dxdydz [/tex]

a) at what values of [tex] x_{0} [/tex] is the particle most likely to be found
b) are there any values of x for which the probability of the particle being found is zero?explain

Homework Equations

Alright so I am a newb when it comes to QM because we're just learning it now, I'm very confused with this question because it asks for probability of x when its over a region of x,y and z. Is it possible to use this [tex] \int \mid \psi (x_{0},y_{0},z_{0}) \mid ^2 dxdydz [/tex] and integrate over all space?? please can someone tell me where to start

Physics news on Phys.org
The question is kind of poorly worded. If you integrate |psi|^2 over all space, you should get 1 (the probability of finding the particle anywhere is 1), and that let's you fix the constant A in terms of alpha, beta and gamma. What they probably mean by (a) is: for a fixed value of y and z, the neighborhood around what value of x maximizes your probability of finding the particle? In (b), they mean the same sort of thing: are there any regions of space where the particle won't be?

ok, but I still don't understand what to do...please someone just tell me where to start i'd really appreciate it this is frustrating me so much

For what value(s) of x is |psi|^2 at a maximum? For what value(s) of x is |psi|^2 0?