Help a Physics Student with Two Dim. Oscilator Problem

• Thread starter noamriemer
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Oscilator
In summary, the student is seeking help with an equation and is having trouble understanding what the u_j are. They are supposed to be coordinates that are not the x and y coordinates, but they are not sure what they are. If they could understand what |x\rangle meant, they would be much closer to understanding the problem.
noamriemer
Hello! I am new here...
I am a physics student, seeking for help. There is something I just can't seem to understand...
Your help will be much appreciated...

In my exercise, I have the following Hamiltonian:
[tex]H=\frac{p_x^2}{2m}+\frac{p_y^2}{2m}+\frac{1}{2}m \omega^2 (x^2+y^2)+\lambda xy[/tex]

I was supposed to find a transformation for which there will be no "linked" coordinates. This is what I came up with:
[tex]H=\frac{p_a^2}{2m}+\frac{p_b^2}{2m}+\frac{a^2}{2}(m\omega^2+\lambda)+\frac{b^2}{2}(m\omega^2-\lambda)[/tex]

I need to find the transition matrix. And here I am facing my problems:
The matrix is given by:
[tex]H=\left \langle u_i|H|u_j \right \rangle= \left \langle u_i|v_j \right \rangle\left \langle v_j|H|v_l \right \rangle\left \langle v_l \right |u_j\rangle[/tex]

But I can't understand... what are the [tex]u_j[/tex] ?
Does it refer to the coordinates- so in my case it will be:
[tex]H=\left \langle x|H|y \right \rangle= \left \langle x|b \right \rangle\left \langle b|H|a \right \rangle\left \langle a \right |y\rangle[/tex]

If it is so: what does [tex]|x\rangle[/tex] mean?

Thank you all so much!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
In the first part you need to add and subtract terms such that there is no x*y term, or in other words, the equation can be separated into two independent equations, each dependent on only one co-ordinate.