Height and horizontal distance of a projectile

In summary, the problem is to find the height and horizontal distance reached by a projectile with given vertical and horizontal velocities. The homework equations used are V=at+Vo and X=1\2at^2 + Vo + Xo. After some calculations, the vertical height and time are determined to be x=720 and t=12. The next step would be to find the horizontal distance, which can be done by considering the horizontal distance to the highest point or using the equation to find when the vertical height becomes zero again. The student is unsure if the time obtained is for the whole path or just midway. It is important to note if the horizontal velocity changes or remains constant in order to consider the horizontal motion as 1-D
theaman
1. The problem: I need to find the height and horizontal distance reached by a projectile given only the vertical and horizontal velocities. Vv=120m/s Vh= 30m/s this is for an algebra based physics class, I'm very new to this stuff.

Homework Equations

: V=at+Vo
X=1\2at^2 + Vo + Xo [/B]

The Attempt at a Solution

: I think I was able to figure out the vertical height and time, getting t=12 and height as x=720
but I have no idea where to go from here to find horizontal distance or anything else that would be necessary to finish the problem. Also, we are using 10m/s instead of 9.8m/s for the acceleration caused by gravity. I just need help with what the next step would be to figuring out the rest of the problem, do I just plug the numbers back into the formula in some way? I've just started taking physics, and I have no idea what I'm doing. Thanks in advance.[/B]

Physics news on Phys.org
theaman said:
X=1\2at^2 + Vo + Xo
X=1\2at^2 + Vo t + Xo
There are two ways you could find the horizontal range. You could consider the horizontal distance to the reach the highest point and use symmetry, or you could use your equation to find when the vertical height becomes zero again.

theaman said: