Heat engines: how can we yield work?

In summary, the heat engine described in the thermodynamics section of a study book can be confusing, but it can be simplified by understanding the four steps of the cycle (two isothermal and two adiabatic) and the concept that the area under the PV curve represents the work done. The difference in pressure and volume during expansion and compression also plays a role in the net work produced by the system.
ikjadoon
So, I'm studying for the MCAT. There..I've said it. :) But, it's not a homework question: I just don't understand the concept.

My study book's thermodynamics section includes a very rough sketch of a heat engine to describe the 2nd Law of Thermodynamics. A side note in the text says that if this section is confusing, just ignore the heat engine and simply know the 2nd Law of Thermodynamics (...that heat cannot be turned into work 100% in a cyclical process); however, I am interested in the heat engine (mainly because I don't understand how it works, haha).

My lapse in understanding: how can it take less work to compress a piston to its original state than how much work the piston did? It takes work to compress the piston, but how can that be any less than what work was done by the system through expansion?

I get the first "part" of the heat engine. We have a piston and it's in an isothermal environment. We remove some force holding the piston and thus the volume expands and pressure decreases. Since it is isothermal, however, heat transfers energy into the system to keep it at the same temperature (ΔE = q + w where ΔE = 0) via a hot reservoir. The heat we put into the system = the work we get out. Yes, this makes sense.

But, in all the websites and textbooks I've looked at, then somehow we can compress the piston back to its original state by doing work to the system--but we use less work!