Have you had experience with hydrofluoric acid in a cleanroom setting?

• Thread starter kooglof
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Acid
In summary: HF.Summary:In summary, it is a psychological question whether those who are working with HF feel anything different than those who are not. It is also important to consider the scale of the chemical and the environment in which it is being used.
kooglof
Hi all,

I have a rather specific question regarding the content of a possible job for me in science (postdoc in academia). The job would imply do deal times to times with hydrofluoric acid (HF) in cleanroom, for wet etching of Si in particular.

My background is more in physics - I have no previous background in such techniques. Of course, I browsed the web and I know that this compound is very nasty and I am aware of the safety procedures.

Those who have experience could tell me more in the sense, is it reasonable for me to adapt to such technique as my first experience in chemical etching? Did you feel a specific stress linked to this particular step in the processes? Is is really different from other chemicals regarding the feeling/danger of the operator?

Thanks a lot, it would clarify the way I see this job.

kooglof

Chemistry news on Phys.org
I would definitely advice against starting with HF. Getting some experience with glass/wet chemistry using safe solutions looks much more reasonable.

Stress thing is individual. I never had problems dealing with more dangerous stuff (not that I ever worked with really nasty chemicals), I knew people who were paralyzed even by mildly concentrated acids .

Hmm... I confess I never understood why people are 'scared' of chemicals. That implies 'fearing' something, an irrational emotion that should have nothing to do with scientific work, and may even temporarily impair your judgment and capabilities, IMO.