Harmonic Oscillator equivalence

In summary, the conversation discusses the equation shown in section 2.2 of "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics, 2nd edition" (Griffiths) which is derived from the time-independent Schrödinger equation and involves the variable k. It is referred to as the classical simple harmonic oscillator equation, but there is no connection to the harmonic oscillator equation for masses and springs with constant k. The similarity lies in the mathematical form of the equations, but they describe different physical phenomena. The mention of the classical SHO in the book is simply a way of indicating a known equation for solving the problem.
Adolfo Scheidt
Hello, I'm studying the section 2.2 of "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics, 2nd edition" (Griffiths), and he shows this equation $$\frac{\partial^2\psi}{\partial x^2} = -k^2\psi , $$ where psi is a function only of x (this equation was derivated from the time-independent Schrödinger equation) and k is defined as $$\frac{\sqrt{2mE}}{\hbar}.$$

Then, he refers to the equation above as being the classical simple harmonic oscillator equation. That's where my question comes: I can't exactly see how he made this connection with the following harmonic oscillator equation (for masses and springs with constant k, for example) $$ m\frac{d^2 x}{dt^2} = -kx$$

Any help will be very appreciated. Thanks :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Mathematically it is the same equation, just changing the names of the variables.

Likes Adolfo Scheidt
Orodruin said:
Mathematically it is the same equation, just changing the names of the variables.
Which is a misleading coincidence.

Adolfo Scheidt said: