Handling dx/dt as an ordinary fraction?

• Thread starter jafisika
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Fraction
In summary, the discussion revolves around the use of differential fractions in deriving formulas, particularly in physics and mathematics. While there has been controversy over treating differential fractions as ordinary fractions, in physics it is generally acceptable to do so. The focus should be on understanding the meaning of the formulas rather than the formulas themselves. Differential forms play a role in this discussion and are generally not proportional unless there is only one independent variable. An example is given to illustrate the potential issues that can arise when using differential fractions.
jafisika
I'm a South African undergraduate physics student.

In our textbook (Fundamentals of physics, John Wiley and sons, 2008) many formulas are derived by treating a differential fraction (like dq/dt) as an ordinary fraction -see example below. Can this differential fraction in all cases be treated as a normal fraction. If not in all cases, when can it be treated as such?
Example of deriving a formula from Fundamentals of physics (2008): Note: E is the emf of an ideal battery and i is the current through the battery.
dW=Edq=Eidt
From conservation of energy:
Eidt= (i^2)Rdt, which gives
E=iR and thus i=E/R

Mathematics news on Phys.org
It doesn't look like it is being treated as an "ordinary fraction". You have in general f(x)dx=g(x)dx => f(x)=g(x).

For a function y(x), the symbolisme dy/dx has a well defined meaning. But considering it as a quotient of infinitisimal values and treating it as an ordinary fraction was the subject of a long controversy.
In pure mathematics, the question is now overcome in the context of Non Standard Analysis, which provides a satisfactory justification.
In Physics, one can use it as an ordinary fraction without reservation : The models of physical phenomena involve more concret concepts.