Hand-on semiconductor demonstration

In summary, the speaker is a graduate student in semiconductor physics who has been asked to give a presentation to high school girls. They are having trouble coming up with a hands-on activity related to semiconductors and are considering the hall effect experiment, but they do not have access to a transportable magnet. They ask for suggestions and someone suggests showing solar cells or passing around a wafer. Another suggestion is to demonstrate diffraction using a laser pointer and microscope objective.
slaw14
I am a graduate student working in semiconductor physics. I have been asked to give a presentation to high school girls about my field. The problem I am running into is that the organizers would like me to provide something hands-on that the girls can do relating to semiconductors. I have not been able to think of anything or really find anything on the web. I wouldn't mind doing the hall effect experiment (since that is strongly related to my experiments), but I don't really have access to a magnet I can transport (the one in my lab is quite heavy and unwieldy). Do you have any suggestions as to hands-on experiments I could do or where on the web I could find some? Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
hi

why not show some solar cells ? it is a impressive demonstration of semiconductor "at work".. well, at least, you could align your explanations ;-) just forget the organic stuff ...

good luck

Pass around a wafer? Kids like shiny things, right?

If you want to talk about fabrication and depending what kinds of masks you have access to, you could do a simple diffraction demonstration with a laser pointer on the wall. Then use a microscope objective to form the image.

Related to Hand-on semiconductor demonstration

1. What is a "Hand-on semiconductor demonstration"?