Groups of quarks and confinement

In summary, the lecturer explained that quarks are unable to separate once they are within a certain distance from each other, and that this would lead to groups of quarks forming one larger group.
||spoon||
hey guys,

I am a first year physics student but my physics lecturer invited me to sit in during her third year physics lecture.

Of course i didnt fully understand some of it, but i think i at least grasped the concept of confinement (the lecture was on quantum chromodynamics by the way). My question is: if quarks are unable to separate once they are within a certain distance feom each other, would it not be the case that groups of quarks passing by each other within this distance would form one larger group? And would this not continue until there was just a huge clump of quarks all unable to escape each other??

Sorry if my question is unclear, as i said i am only a first year and i may have the wrong idea about confinement in general. If so please try and put me on the right track.

Thanks,
-spoon

Physics news on Phys.org
Because quarks come in three "colors" and their wave function is antisymmetric in the color degree of freedom, no more than three quarks can be in one confined state.
Extra quark-antiquark pairs may be included.

thanks for the reply.

Would the scenario be able to occur for pairs of quarks I.e those groups that make up mesons (I think).

Although I suppose there would be no single quarks around in that case since they would already be confined with at least one other quark so that the smallest group of quarks ever passing by each other would be four, and as you described impossible to form one larger clump...?