Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

GRE General Test

Random Variable

MHB Math Helper
Jan 31, 2012
I took the GRE General Test earlier this week. The verbal and quantitative reasoning sections were easy, but I was overwhelmed by the analytical writing section. How does one organize a multi-paragraph response in only 30 minutes? Due to the time constraints, I was only able to give partial responses to both questions.

I have a Master of Science in Mathematics, but most (if not all) PhD programs require that you take the GRE.

Chris L T521

Staff member
Jan 26, 2012
I took the GRE General Test earlier this week. The verbal and quantitative reasoning sections were easy, but I was overwhelmed by the analytical writing section. How does one organize a multi-paragraph response in only 30 minutes? Due to the time constraints, I was only able to give partial responses to both questions.

I have a Master of Science in Mathematics, but most (if not all) PhD programs require that you take the GRE.
To me, the analytic writing section was the most challenging too. However, since I have a thing for writing, I managed to do alright on it. However, I don't think you should really be too concerned about the general exam; most maths departments don't care about the general exam (it's mostly grad admissions that have some interest in it). The thing the maths departments care about is how you do on the GRE subject exam. Have you taken that yet?

Random Variable

MHB Math Helper
Jan 31, 2012
It might have helped if I knew beforehand that there is a pool of topics on the GRE web site.

No, I haven't taken the subject test. It's not offered until April. The one thing that concerns me is my knowledge (or lack thereof) of abstract algebra.

Chris L T521

Staff member
Jan 26, 2012
It might have helped if I knew beforehand that there is a pool of topics on the GRE web site.