Gravity problems - when is the Earth's attraction 5 Newtons

In summary, the object must be taken to a distance approximately 9,011 meters from the center of Earth in order for Earth's attraction to be 5 Newtons. This is based on the Universal Law of Gravitation and the fact that force varies inversely with the square of the distance between two objects.
Sedm
I just recently started studying physics about a month ago, so I'm not too good at it yet. Anyway, here's the problem:

When a certain object is 100 meters above the surface of the Earth, Earth's attraction for it is 10 Newtons. In order for Earth's attraction for the same object to be only 5 Newtons, the object must be taken to a distance from the surface of Earth of _______.

My approach to the problem: I thought that in order to decrease the force by half, you would have to quadruple the distance (in other words, it varies inversely as the distance between the two points squared). This led me to think that the answer is 400 meters. Naturally, as I don't know that much about physics yet though, I don't think I'm right.

Help, anyone?

Physics news on Phys.org
Your reasoning is close. The Universal Law of Graviation is [tex]G\frac{m_1m_2}{r^2}[/tex]

r is the distance from the center of earth.

So to double the force of gravity, you would increase r by a factor of [tex]\sqrt{2}[/tex]

Sedm said:
I just recently started studying physics about a month ago, so I'm not too good at it yet. Anyway, here's the problem:

When a certain object is 100 meters above the surface of the Earth, Earth's attraction for it is 10 Newtons. In order for Earth's attraction for the same object to be only 5 Newtons, the object must be taken to a distance from the surface of Earth of _______.