Gravity curvature and graviton

In summary: In GR, gravity is not a force, as it is in Newtonian mechanics. Instead, the presence of matter and energy curves spacetime, and objects follow the straightest possible paths through this curved spacetime. This is why we say that gravity is not a force, but rather a curvature of spacetime. So, in summary, the rubber-sheet analogy is useful for visualizing the idea of curved spacetime, but it is not a perfect representation and should not be taken too literally.
Nikarus
Hello all,
I'm new to GR and trying to understand everything in general now...
I was looking at pictures like this one
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/22/Spacetime_curvature.png
for a very long time. I made two major "experimental" conclusions here:
1. A meter near planet will be longer that a meter far a way from it for observer outside the planet;
2. If two objects travel parallel with same speed and one of them goes near planet, then the one that is closer to the planet will remain behind (if we neglect its trajectory change), but when they come out of the gravity influence, they will have same speed again.
Is that correct?

But I still can't understand, where gravity force comes in action at this picture? I read from Hawking that gravity is curvature. I can only understand it if I add in mind some additional force on the picture directed down that will hold a moving object on this curve - but isn't is stupid?
And where the graviton comes in action here?

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi, Nikarus,

Welcome to PF!

Nikarus said:
1. A meter near planet will be longer that a meter far a way from it for observer outside the planet;