Graduate schools in the US for the biological sciences.

In summary: Obviously, the better your GPA, the better your chance of getting in, but there are other factors involved like letters of recommendation, research experience, and interviews. So, if you're really interested in cancer research, you should try to get involved in some research projects as a grad student. You might find that you're more interested in the research than the schooling, in which case you should try to find a way to get involved as early as possible.
kalladin
Hi, I'm just wondering if I could be pointed to some good graduate programs in the US for the biological sciences. Things of interest to me are biochemistry, biotechnology, immunology, microbiology, and pathobiology. One thing to note is that I'm a Canadian student, and I would be interested in good schools that will accept international applicants.

Cheers!

K.

Physics news on Phys.org
kalladin said:
Hi, I'm just wondering if I could be pointed to some good graduate programs in the US for the biological sciences. Things of interest to me are biochemistry, biotechnology, immunology, microbiology, and pathobiology. One thing to note is that I'm a Canadian student, and I would be interested in good schools that will accept international applicants.

Cheers!

K.

I see you mentioned international student. Are you just interested in US universities, or other international ones as well?

I am mostly interested in US schools ^^ Of course I'd also consider Canadian ones, but then I know most of what I want to know about Canadian schools already.

Basically, gradschools.com is a pretty good site for knowing all the universities that offer a certain program. This however tells me nothing about how good the program is, how much funding gets put into it, how good the facilities are. I know for one that Berkeley has very good research facilities and lots of funding into the biological sciences. What other schools are there that are like this?