Grade 12 Physics: Practice Equation Proofs for Work, KE, Springs, & Potential Energy

In summary, the conversation is about a student in grade 12 physics seeking help with equation proofs related to work, kinetic energy, springs, and potential energy. The student is specifically interested in proving the general equation for gravitational potential energy. Another person offers to derive the conservation of mechanical energy for them in the case of a point particle under the influence of gravity. The derivation involves using Newton's second law and integrating equations over time, resulting in the conclusion that mechanical energy remains constant for the particle's motion.
decamij
I am in grade 12 physics, and i have to practice equation proofs. I am currently studying work, kinetic energy, springs, and potential energy (gravity and elastic).

Does anyone have a good proof?

Physics news on Phys.org
Proof of what?
Your question is much too vague..

Sorry, i mean proving an energy-related equation.

Which of them?
Specifics, please.

i know its a simple equation, but i suck at proofs.

how about the general equation for gravitational potential energy?

Ok, I'll derive the conservation of mechanical energy for you, in the case of a point particle under the influence of the force of gravity.
I write Newton's 2.law in vector form:
[tex]-mg\vec{j}=m\vec{a}[/tex]
where [tex]\vec{a}=\frac{d^{2}\vec{x}}{dt^{2}}[/tex] is the acceleration, and
[tex]\vec{x}(t)=x(t)\vec{i}+y(t)\vec{j}[/tex]
and the velocity is given by:
[tex]\vec{v}=\frac{d\vec{x}}{dt}[/tex]
We also have:
[tex]\vec{a}=\frac{d\vec{v}}{dt}[/tex]
1. Form the dot product
between [tex]\vec{v}[/tex] and Newton's 2.law:
[tex]-mg\frac{dy}{dt}=m\frac{d\vec{v}}{dt}\cdot\vec{v}[/tex]
2. Integrate this equation between 2 arbtriray points of time:
[tex]\int_{t_{0}}^{t_{1}}-mg\frac{dy}{dt}dt=\int_{t_{0}}^{t_{1}}m\frac{d\vec{v}}{dt}\cdot\vec{v}dt[/tex]
3. The left-hand side is easy to compute: