Good linera algebra books for beginners

In summary, Goldbeetle requested book recommendations for a beginner's guide to linear algebra and received suggestions for "Linear Algebra Demystified" by David McMahon and "Linear Algebra Done Right" by Sheldon Axler. Other highly rated options can also be found on Amazon. The appropriate forum for this discussion is "science education" → "academic guidance" → "science book discussion".
Goldbeetle
Dear all,
I hope this is the right forum for such a question. Could you please give some references on book on linear algebra for absolute beginners (student with not a lot of math background).
Thanks.
Goldbeetle

Physics news on Phys.org
"Linear Algebra Demystified" by David McMahon. This book avoids abstract vector spaces and linear maps for the first few chapters, and instead teaches you the concrete computational side of linear algebra first.

I think the right forum is "science education" → "academic guidance" → "science book discussion".

I prefer the more abstract approach myself (e.g. Sheldon Axler: Linear algebra done right), but maybe that's because I know this stuff already. If you search for "linear algebra" at amazon.com, there are other books that have been given higher grades by the readers, so maybe you'd prefer one of them.

Related to Good linera algebra books for beginners

1. What are the key features to look for in a good linear algebra book for beginners?

A good linear algebra book for beginners should have a clear and concise writing style, a focus on fundamental concepts and applications, and a variety of practice problems for students to reinforce their understanding. It should also include visual aids, such as diagrams and illustrations, to help explain abstract concepts.

2. Are there any recommended books specifically for self-study?