Good introduction to quantum Mechanics for beginners

In summary: One of the few redeeming features of pop-sci crap is that is DOES whet some folks appetite for real science, so if you can keep in mind that they will oversimple some stuff and just get some stuff plain WRONG, then you don't need to avoid pop-sci versions. Just don't take it too seriously and if something doesn't pass any kind of smell test, come here and ask questions.
delsaber8
So I'm pretty new to the subject of quantum mechanics and was wondering if you folks know of any books or sites that give an introduction to Quantum mechanics. I should emphasis that I'm looking for rather basic explanations as my knowledge of the subject matter is minimal to nothing.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
What knowledge do you have right now? Do you know calculus? Linear algebra? Classical Mechanics? Electricity & Magnetism? Differential equations?

Also, are you interested in some pop-sci explanation of QM or the actual real thing?

micromass said:
What knowledge do you have right now? Do you know calculus? Linear algebra? Classical Mechanics? Electricity & Magnetism? Differential equations?

Also, are you interested in some pop-sci explanation of QM or the actual real thing?

I'm in grade 12 right now, and we have just started calculus so I know very basic differentiation, but other than that my knowledge is very little. My school only has physics in the second semester which means I have yet to do much with electricity and magnetism, but I do have some basic knowledge of the subject. As for the Quantum mechanics I am interested in learning, it would definitely be the real stuff, I want to stay as far away as I can from any sort of pop-sci QM.

delsaber8 said: