Good graduate computational physics programs?

In summary, the conversation revolved around a search for graduate programs in computational physics, with a focus on programs in Canada and the US. The participants also discussed the importance of finding potential advisors who specialize in the specific field of computational research that interests the individual. Additionally, it was suggested to also consider programs in chemistry departments and computer science/applied math departments for similar work. The conversation ended with a request for recommendations on Canadian universities offering programs in computational physics or mathematics.
Jamesathon
Hi everyone!
I'm currently searching for good graduate computational physics programs, so if anyone can name a few, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I have the same question.

I'm a masters student in computational physics in Canada. If you're looking for Canada I could maybe toss out a few schools/profs.

P.S. quantum specialization or astro?

I'd prefer the US. Quantum probably.

Well I'm quantum but I can't say I know the U.S. really. Was too expensive to even really consider

I would just suggest finding potential advisors who do computational research which interests you. There's a lot of different fields even within computational quantum physics (much electronic structure and simulation actually takes place in chemistry departments as well) so you're better off just finding people who you want to work with. There aren't many programs in the US that offer specialization in computational physics (USC's CACS is one of the few that comes to mind).

t!m brings up a good point. A lot of chem people do a lot of DFT stuff (density functional theory) which is very much computational physics so I wouldn't forget to peruse chem departments as well. Also, some schools will have computer science/applied math departments that will also do similar work.