Going to iPhO, sharing an experience

In summary, the speaker is a high school student from the Netherlands who has been selected for the International Physics Olympiad. They have spent a lot of time studying for the competition and have found it challenging, but also have realized that they do not want to pursue a career in physics. They are planning to study science at university, but are questioning whether it is worth it if they do not have exceptional grades or talents. They have been studying from a university textbook and online courses to prepare for the Olympiad, which is at a university exam level. They are also considering switching to foreign languages in the future.
lol_nl
I am a high school student (just graduated) from the Netherlands who is going to the International Physics Olympiad next week. I am happy I‘ve got here, but also feel I’ve been wasting a lot of time doing things that are beyond my level. I just wanted to share my experience here.

I’ve never been exceptionally talented in physics or mathematics and even never made it to the next round in any of the Math and Science Olympiads in the last years. This year, however, physics appeared to be a quite a piece of cake for me, because I had decided to study problems from the past few years and the questions of the first round were really elementary and quite similar to ones from the past years. I made it into to the second round but did not expect to get any further. I had to study so much that’s not part of our high school curriculum… Mechanics and electromagnetism were manageable, but getting a ‘steam course’ in thermodynamics or relativity is really not something I’d recommend to anyone. Nevertheless, I’ve put a LOT of time into it and practiced a LOT. In the end the problems appeared to be easier than I had expected (in fact, most were taken from first year university physics books I believe), and totally unexpectedly I ended up as 4th and thus am selected for the iPhO team.