Going back to physics, my first love

In summary, you should consider doing a Phd in physics if you are passionate about it. You can get a good job without a physics bachelors, but it will be harder. You should also consider marrying someone who is supportive of your career change.
heisen
I have always love physics ever since high school but being a scholar I had to do engineering instead. Maybe due to peer pressure in the rat race, I've even got myself a master in engineering. I majored in computer system and spend my career doing electronic CAD software. I've got a good position and good pay. I'm planning to do a Phd but I don't think I should torture myself working on something that I'm not truly passionate about. I loves to go back to physics instead.

How do you suggest I go to the physics track again. Do I need to start at Bachelor level or could I do a Phd and pickup master level coursework along the way? I'm in my 30s, do you think I could still get some form of financial assistance? Should I work part time in my current specialty and pursue physics part time? What would you suggest I do? Has anyone done something like this before?

The thing I missed most about Physic is the part where you ask why. In engineering, it's more about what and how. I know I should have done Physic since the beginning. I hope it is still not to late.

Physics news on Phys.org
You don't have to do a full Bachelor's degree in physics, but it's doubtful if you'd be able to go straight into a Ph.D. program unless you took a *huge* number of physics courses as electives when you were in school.