Getting back into physics after engineering masters

In summary, a 2013 graduate with a BS in physics is looking for an advanced degree to progress in their career, but their current job does not allow for a degree in-residence. They are considering online nuclear engineering programs, such as the one offered by Penn State, but ultimately want to earn a Ph.D. in physics. Their main concern is whether earning a Master's in nuclear engineering would harm their chances of pursuing a doctorate in physics. It is possible for engineers to earn a Ph.D. in physics, depending on the content of their Master's program and their field of interest. However, administrative differences may exist between the US and EU.
ZeroSkyOne
I'm a 2013 graduate with a BS in physics (no specialization). My current line of work doesn't allow me to pursue a degree in-residence however an advanced degree is required for career progression. I've been looking into nuclear engineering programs offered online, mainly Penn State. However, I would like to ultimately earn my Ph.D. in physics. My questions: how difficult would it be to (1) earn a Masters in nuclear engineering and (2) then get back into physics to earn my doctorate with only a nuclear engineering masters as a foundation?

I've read the other postings related to physics BS-to-nuke engineering but my concern is damaging my chances of pursuing the doctorate.

Thanks in advance for the input/advice. If you need any additional info please let me know.

Physics news on Phys.org
(2) It depends on the content of the Master in Nuclear Engineering as well as on the field in physics you are interested in. Many engineers earned a PhD in physics. In depth study of "Neutron transport" can be seen as theoretical physics. I don't know about the administrative pov in the US, as I live in EU.

Related to Getting back into physics after engineering masters

1. What skills from engineering can be applied to physics?