Geometrical Interpretation of V in Span S

In summary, Geometrically, saying that V lies in span S means that V can be reached by adding scalar multiples of the vectors in S. This can be visualized as a plane or 3-dimensional space, depending on the number of vectors in S. This concept is commonly used in linear algebra and has various applications in fields such as digital processing and computational neuroscience.
Nano-Passion
What does it mean geometrically to say that V lies in span S, in other words that V is in a linear combination of S?

Physics news on Phys.org
Let me just try and answer this (because i am studying the same thing and was trying to interpret it geometrically). Let us consider two objects (rather vectors, mind well not the ones that have mag. and direction) u1 and v1[itex]\in[/itex] S, such that they are linearly independent. Example (1,1),(0,1). Or simply consider u1=(0,1) and v1=(1,0), ([itex]\hat{i}[/itex], [itex]\hat{j}[/itex])and using these two ordered pair you can form all the other ordered pairs and extend it to the whole V.
It is like saying, a(1,0)+b(0,1)=(x,y), i.e. their linear combination gives the whole region occupied by ordered pair. that is same as saying these vectors u1 and v1 cover or span the whole vector space V2(2-d vector space in this case). this same idea can be extended to n-dimensional vector space.
It is also possible that with a span S(u1, u2, u3) you span a plane of 3-d vector space depending upon the vectors u1, u2, u3 (this case comes when one of the three is dependent on the other two).
hope this helps.

Geometrically, let's restrict ourselves to R^3. And let us say we are talking about the span of two vectors ##\vec{v}## and ##\vec{w}##. If you remember from earlier math classes, for any two vectors there exists one and only one plane such that both vectors lie in the plane.