General textbook within the area of physics

In summary, the conversation is about a final year undergraduate chemistry student seeking a general textbook on physics to enhance their understanding of quantum mechanics. They have a good knowledge of quantum mechanics but want to improve their understanding of classical physics as well. They have some background in physics from their chemistry degree, but it is not at a high level. The textbook is for the student themselves, as they plan to pursue a Ph.D in theoretical chemistry. Some suggested textbooks are provided in the conversation.
Wavefunction12
Hi everyone!

I wanted to put a quick post up on the forum! I'm a final year undergraduate chemistry student, and my dissertation topic involves using molecular quantum dynamics to simulate charge-transfer at a solar cell heterojunction. My knowledge of quantum mechanics is acceptable, but I'm looking for a good general textbook within the area of physics.
Quantum mechanics is something I hope to work with for my Ph.D, but I have a general interest in physics and would like a textbook for an undergraduate student. I assume to fully understand quantum theory, I need to understand classical physics to a fairly high level? My mathematical ability isn't quite 'physicist' level yet, but I'm fairly well versed in Calculus I,II and my Linear Algebra is getting better.

Thanks a lot!

Physics news on Phys.org
Your post is a little confusing. Is this textbook for you or your friend? Do you want to learn quantum mechanics or classical physics?

Have you studied any physics already as part of your chemistry degree, and if so, using which textbook? In the US, chemistry bachelors degrees normally include at least first-year introductory physics at the level of e.g. Halliday/Resnick/Walker Fundamentals of Physics. Also, physical chemistry includes includes some quantum mechanics IIRC. I don't know what it's like in other countries.

jtbell said: