General relativity math self-study - what next?

In summary, the goal of the individual is to develop an intuitive understanding of math underlying general relativity and ultimately be able to take a book like Wald or Carroll and, as someone on these forums commented once, “be able to casually read it while sipping my morning coffee and listening to the news.”
ibkev
My goal is to develop an intuitive understanding of the math underlying general relativity and ultimately be able to take a book like Wald or Carroll and, as someone on these forums commented once, “be able to casually read it while sipping my morning coffee and listening to the news.” :)

So where am I now? Although I have an eng degree, I completed it years ago and I've been brushing up. Math-wise, I’ve worked through vector calculus (Stewart) and linear algebra (Poole.) Physics-wise, I've also brushed up on mechanics (Taylor), EM (Griffiths) and done some light conceptual reading on SR.

So now the question is where to go next? What I'd like to do is come up with a list of textbooks that would makes sense when used together. ie. not too much overlap and a progression towards grad-level texts that is reasonable for self-study. Also, rather than go with the math-for-physicists route, I’m interested in a broader understanding of the associated math. My hope is to find a path that offers the holy trinity of intuition, motivation AND rigour. That said, I am self-studying, so if a text is particularly good at developing intuition and offering motivation at the expense of rigour I would be fine with that.