General Relativity and light deflection

In summary, the conversation discusses the difficulty in understanding general relativity and how it affects the bending of light in a gravitational field. The concept of curvature in space-time is mentioned and it is explained that this is what causes the extra deflection of light. It is also noted that a strong mathematical background is needed to fully grasp the concept of curvature in general relativity.
Mickey Farley
I am a student of physics at a local Junior College in Mendham NJ and am planning on transferring to a 4 year program at the University of Alabama in a year. Iam having a bit of a difficult time understanding general relativity. Why does a photon bend twice as much under a gravitational field compared to a test particle in Newtonian mechanics? I understand time dilation is a factor, but I would have thought the deviation would be proportional to the inverse of the square of the distance, not 2 times that. Doesn't this imply general relativity violates the inverse square law? Forgive my ignorance, for I am only trying to understand where terms like "inverse square law" and such fits in with modern physical models. Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
You do understand that "proportional to x" and "proportional to 2x" are equivalent statements, right?

Mickey Farley said:
Doesn't this imply general relativity violates the inverse square law?
GR does "violate" the inverse square law. However it would be better to say that the inverse square law is not quite exact; GR produces better predictions for the behavior of objects in strong gravitational fields than the Newtonian calculations based on the inverse square law.