Gaussian sphere problem, non uniform charge

In summary: You see, the sphere of radius r is a sub-sphere of the original sphere of radius R, and its charge is given by the same expression as the charge of the original sphere, but with a different bound of integration.
Duderonimous

Homework Statement

A solid non conducting sphere of radius R=5.60 cm has a nonuniform charge ditribution ρ=(14.1 pC/m^3)r/R, where r is the radial distance from the spheres center. (a) What is the sphere's total charge? What is the magnitude E of the electric field at (b) r=0, (c) r=R/2.00, and (d) r=R? (e) Sketch a graph of E versus r.

Homework Equations

[itex]\Phi[/itex]= q/[itex]\epsilon[/itex][itex]_{o}[/itex]=[itex]\oint[/itex](E[itex]\cdot[/itex][itex]\hat{n}[/itex])dA

Q=[itex]\int\int\int[/itex][itex]_{v}[/itex](ρ)dV

The Attempt at a Solution

I have zero experience with triple integrals and my professor gave us a explaining. I kind of get it but I don't understand exactly how one defines the bounds of the triple integral. dV is defined in spherical coordinates.

(a) Q=[itex]\int\int\int[/itex][itex]_{v}[/itex](ρ)dV

=[itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{R}_{0}[/itex][itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{\pi}_{0}[/itex][itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{2\pi}_{0}[/itex] (14.1 pC/m^3)r/R sinθdrdθd[itex]\phi[/itex]

=(14.1 pC/m^3)/R[itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{R}_{0}[/itex]rdr[itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{\pi}_{0}[/itex] sinθdθ[itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{2\pi}_{0}[/itex]d[itex]\phi[/itex]

=(14.1 pC/m^3)/R [[itex]\frac{r^{2}}{2}[/itex]][itex]^{R}_{0}[/itex][-cosθ][itex]^{\pi}_{0}[/itex][[itex]\phi[/itex]][itex]^{2\pi}_{0}[/itex]

=(14.1 pC/m^3)/R[[itex]\frac{R^{2}}{2}[/itex]][2][2[itex]\pi[/itex]]

=(14.1 pC/m^3)R[2[itex]\pi[/itex]]

=(14.1e-15)(0.056)2[itex]\pi[/itex]

= 4.96 fC

Book says 7.78 fC

(b) e-field is zero

For part c I use 7.78 fC for Q, r=R/2

(c) [itex]\Phi[/itex]= q/[itex]\epsilon[/itex][itex]_{o}[/itex]

[itex]\oint[/itex](E[itex]\cdot[/itex][itex]\hat{n}[/itex])dA= q/[itex]\epsilon[/itex][itex]_{o}[/itex]