Gate source voltage and gate cathode voltage

In summary: Gate chathode voltage is what you see on the cathode terminal, and is typically much higher than gate voltage. This is due to the fact that your gate terminal is biased towards the source of the gate drive (typically the power supply), while the cathode is biased away from the source.
parichay
I am studying thyrisors right now. I am really struck at trigger circuit . The book shows gate source voltage and gate chathode voltage as two different things. I fail to understand the difference and significance of them. Please help me out .

Engineering news on Phys.org
parichay said:
I am studying thyrisors right now. I am really struck at trigger circuit . The book shows gate source voltage and gate chathode voltage as two different things. I fail to understand the difference and significance of them. Please help me out .
Hi parichay. http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/5725/red5e5etimes5e5e45e5e25.gif

Can you provide a jpeg of the schematic and associated text where these are discussed?

Last edited by a moderator:
Here is the image

Attachments

• 1407599770243.jpg
    1407599770243.jpg
    35.2 KB · Views: 509
Notice that the gate is not directly connect to Es trigger voltage source.
Voltage at thyristors gate is equal to Ug = Es * Ig*Rs. And only if Rs = 0 Ohm then Es = Ug

The book shows gate source voltage and gate chathode voltage as two different things.

i think it's a question of grammar and vocabulary, not one of electronics.

Notice there's no hyphen in "gate source" inferring that's his description of the circle labelled Es, which i'd have called "gate supply" .
Gate-source is such a common phrase in FET literature it's an easy mistake to make.

Thyristors have a terminal called cathode but not one called source .
'Source' is almost synonymous with 'supply', and both could be either noun or verb,
so i think "gate source" was just a poor if excusably natural choice of wording.