Future inspite of mediocre beginnings?

• Thread starter BUConsul
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Future
In summary, your stats are mediocre, but you have potential to do well if you focus on improving them. You should also consider taking hard classes, applying to research opportunities, and preparing for the Math GRE.
BUConsul
Hi, I am a sophomore math major at large state school with a decent-good reputation. Currently, as I look towards the future I see two fields/career paths that interest me: i)Getting a PhD in Math to become a professor/researcher or ii)going into finance. However, as much as I would love to go into to these fields (especially Math), my performance at school the first semester has been, while not terrible, mediocre. I am aware that I need to haul it in order to fulfill my goals, and I am willing to work extremely hard towards them. My only question is, will I still be able to enter these extremely competitive fields?

My statistics are as follows:
Overall GPA = 3.5
Math GPA = 3.2
Classes: Calc I (B)
Calc II (B+)
Calc III (B)
Differential Equations (B-)(Something I'm still mad at my self for, did great all semester yet wretched on the final)
Linear Algebra (A).
No research experience to speak of.