From Gaussian Quadrature to Chebyshev Quadrature

In summary, Chebyshev quadrature is a numerical estimation method for integrals that is based on using Chebyshev polynomials. It is a simplification of Gaussian quadrature, where the weights are all equal and the integration domain is [-1, 1]. The abscissas used in Chebyshev quadrature can be found through the roots of the function G_n(x), derived from the Maclaurin series of s_n(y). This method is explained in more detail in the book "Introduction to Numerical Analysis" by F.B. Hildebrand.
CFXMSC
Hi,

I'm studying about Chebyshev Quadrature and i found so little and confused information about this.
I don't know if Gauss-Chebyshev Quadrature is the same of Chebyshev Quadrature.
The only good information that i found was from Wolfram:

http://mathworld.wolfram.com/ChebyshevQuadrature.html

And there is write Chebyshev Quadrature is a simplification of Gaussian quadrature. So here is my question: How can i simplify from Gaussian Quadrature to Chebyshev Quadrature?

Physics news on Phys.org
You ask an interesting question about terminology. I don't know the answer, but I think it would help to state the question explicitly rather than expecting readers to follow links.

The Wikipedia article on Gaussian Quadrature states:

An n-point Gaussian quadrature rule, named after Carl Friedrich Gauss, is a quadrature rule constructed to yield an exact result for polynomials of degree 2n − 1 or less by a suitable choice of the points [itex] x_i [/itex] and weights [itex] w_i [/itex] for i = 1,...,n. The domain of integration for such a rule is conventionally taken as [−1, 1], so the rule is stated as

[itex] \int_{-1}^{1} f(x) dx \approx \sum_{i=1}^n w_i f(x_i) [/itex]

...if the integrated function can be written as [itex] f(x) = W(x) g(x) [/itex], where [itex] g(x) [/itex] is approximately polynomial, and [itex] W(x) [/itex] is known, then there are alternative weights [itex] {w'}_i[/itex] such that