From applied mathematics to physics.

In summary: Also to jump hasty and carelessly into conclusions is not a good trait for any scientist even for a chemist :P
papajo
I am currently an undergraduate student at a department of applied mathematics.

Its a 4 years (240 ects) program in which I can take lots of physics classes directly from the department of physics of my university as well.

The thing is that I start to believe that I like more to do physics unfortunately I don't know if that is a viable option for me.

What I mean is that I don't know if I can pursue a physics Ph.D (lets say on something relevant to theoretical physics) after my graduation.

Is it mandatory to get a masters degree in physics first, in order to be accepted for a Ph.D in physics because my degree will be more relevant to mathematics?

I apologize for my English its just that I am not a native speaker (also I don't study in an English speaking university ) but of course I will continue studying English with the hope to be more than proficient when I manage to get my degree because I aim to continue my academic career in USA or England.

I thank you in advance for your advise.

Physics news on Phys.org
Thank you for your post.

Something more acute to my question precise and quick? I just want to know if its theoretically and practically possible to go directly for a Ph.D in physics (USA/England) having a degree in applied mathematics

I will read the topic on your link but currently I can't since I have to prepare for my exams :P

papajo said:
I just want to know if its theoretically and practically possible to go directly for a Ph.D in physics (USA/England) having a degree in applied mathematics

Yes it is definitely possible. I know several people who did exactly that in the past couple years.

Likes 1 person