From a vector space to the projective space

In summary, The vector space P(V) obtained as outlined above is the "real projective space" (obtained from ℝ^4\{0} by projection).
ivl
Dear all,

I am not very experienced in this field, so, I have a rather simple question :smile:

-Consider a linear vector space V of dimension 4.
-Prescribe that, if two vectors in V differ by a nonvanishing constant, they belong to the same equivalence class.
-Put together all these equivalence classes, and obtain a 3-dimensional vector space P(V).

My question is: is the space P(V) obtained as outlined above the "projective space" one encounters in projective geometry -- the one defined using axioms, see e.g. the book by Coxeter.

Additional question: if the initial vector space V is defined over the field of real numbers, is P(V) the same as the "real projective space" (obtained from ℝ^4\{0} by projection)?

Any help is very much appreciated,
Ivl

Physics news on Phys.org
ivl said:
Dear all,

I am not very experienced in this field, so, I have a rather simple question :smile:

-Prescribe that, if two vectors in V differ by a nonvanishing constant, they belong to the same equivalence class.
So you are defining an equivalence relation "u~ v if and only if u= av for a some non-zero scalar.

-Put together all these equivalence classes, and obtain a 3-dimensional vector space P(V).

My question is: is the space P(V) obtained as outlined above the "projective space" one encounters in projective geometry -- the one defined using axioms, see e.g. the book by Coxeter.
Okay, what are those axioms?

Additional question: if the initial vector space V is defined over the field of real numbers, is P(V) the same as the "real projective space" (obtained from ℝ^4\{0} by projection)?