Frequencies of standing waves in a straw

In summary,Stevens' class made a straw oboe and measured the frequencies coming out of the instrument. The frequencies were much lower than expected, and they found that the speed of sound was also very low. They found that the length of the straw and the fundamental frequency were able to be used to calculate the speed of sound. However, they are still puzzled by the strange behavior of the instrument.
steven george
I am a physics teacher and I my class is currently studying sound waves. I had my class make some noise makers with straws as shown here. http://www.physics.org/interact/physics-to-go/straw-oboes/

We measured the frequencies coming from the straws and they seem to act like a pipe open at both ends since all the harmonics are present. The frequencies seem to be much lower than we would expect though. I had students use the length of the straw and the fundamental frequency to find the speed of sound. Most of them were getting answers between 120 and 145 m/s.

We considered the straw length to be half a wavelength and then multiplied the wavelength by the fundamental frequency to find the speed. Am I missing something here, or is there some reason that this behaves differently than a typical open ended air column?

Thanks for any help!

Likes Greg Bernhardt
Physics news on Phys.org
This kind of instrument ("reeds" instruments, like oboe, clarinet) behaves usually like closed tube at the mouth end.
So your fundamental mode has a wavelength which is about 4 times the length of the tube. (With the end correction, the factor is a little more than 4)
So you will get speed values that are not too bad.

Likes steven george
Thanks! I had suspected that it would behave like a closed tube at the mouth end but if that was the case I would expect to see only odd numbered harmonics. We saw all the harmonics so I am still a bit puzzled by the whole thing.

How did you measure the frequencies?

nasu said: