Fortran 90: dinamic matrix valued function as argument

In summary, the programmer tried to use functions of different dimensions in a program, but ran into problems. They tried using a subroutine to handle the task, but ran into a compiler error.
Taff
hello, I'm trying to write a program with a subroutine that can handle array valued functions of different dimensions, I'm new to fortran 90 so i have some troubles.
Here's what i tried:

program passing
use functions
use sub_mod
implicit none
integer, dimension(2,2):: a2
integer, dimension(3,3):: a3
call prova(a2,g2)
!print*,a2
call prova(a3,g3)
!print*,a3
end program passing

module functions
implicit none
contains
function g2(x)
implicit none
!result
integer,dimension(2,2) :: g2
!dummy
integer x
g2(1,1)=x+2
g2(1,2)=x+2
g2(2,1)=x+2
g2(2,2)=x+2
end function g2

function g3(x)
implicit none
!result
integer,dimension(3,3) :: g3
!dummy
integer x
g3(1,1)=x+3
g3(1,2)=x+3
g3(2,1)=x+3
g3(2,2)=x+3
end function g3

end module functions

module sub_mod
implicit none
contains
subroutine prova(a,f)
!dummy
integer,dimension(:,:) :: a
integer,dimension(size(a,1),size(a,2)) :: f
external f
a=f(0)
end subroutine prova
end module sub_modi got 1 compiler error "can't open module file sub_mod.mod..."

Technology news on Phys.org
Hi Taff. I'm a pretty infrequent Fortran user, but I think that you have three options with modules

1. Put them ahead of the code that uses them.

2. Put a "prototype" header before the code that uses them. (I think it's the "interface" keyword, but I can't remember the exact syntax).

3. Put them is a separate file.

So the easiest fix for you is to just put them ahead of the main program, Eg

Code:
module functions
implicit none
contains
function g2(x)
implicit none
!result
integer,dimension(2,2) :: g2
!dummy
integer x
g2(1,1)=x+2
g2(1,2)=x+2
g2(2,1)=x+2
g2(2,2)=x+2
end function g2

function g3(x)
implicit none
!result
integer,dimension(3,3) :: g3
!dummy
integer x
g3(1,1)=x+3
g3(1,2)=x+3
g3(2,1)=x+3