Formulas for torque and velocity in simple algebra

In summary, the conversation involves a high school student seeking help with calculating torque, rotational velocity, and horsepower for a physics project involving a spinning wheel and attached buckets. The formula for torque is r*F*sin(theta), where r is the distance from the pivot, F is the applied force, and theta is the angle between the direction of the force and the direction of the object. For rotational velocity, it is simply rotations per time. Power is equal to torque multiplied by rotational speed, with one horsepower being equivalent to 33,000 ft·pound/minute. The student is looking for guidance on how to derive the variables of force and angle in order to calculate torque.
misty
Ok I am a high school freshman and haven't actually studied physics yet, but I'm trying to learn the formulas needed for a project I'm working on. ( I didn't know if this should go here or in the homework section, since it isn't really for a school assignment, but please move it if it belongs there.)

Given a wheel with a radius of R1 that has a mass of M1. Every 45 degrees there is a bucket attached who's center of gravity is at a radius of R2, with a mass of M2, and another bucket who's center of gravity is at a radius of R3, with a mass of M3.

The wheel is spinning clockwise, and the buckets around R2 are constantly being filled, with sand, of a mass of M4, when they are at the top (0 degrees). When they reach the bottom (180 degrees) they are emptied. Also The buckets around R3 re constantly being filled, with sand, of a mass of M5, when they are at 90 degrees, and emptied at 270 degrees. Assume the wheel is spinning perpetually, that there is no force of impact when the buckets are filled with sand, and that there is no other source of energy.

What I need to know is how, using simple algebra, do I calculate:
1) the torque
2) the rotational velocity (rpm)
3) the horse power

Physics news on Phys.org
misty said: